A door to Green Knowe: Lucy Boston, Mrs Oldknow and the past in the present

6 thoughts on “A door to Green Knowe: Lucy Boston, Mrs Oldknow and the past in the present”

  1. I recorded The Children of Green Knowe over Christmas. I loved reading it (not sure if anyone loved listening though!) and felt myself moving ever deeper into the house ad gardens as the words unfurled. As a 21st century it creates an odd sense of solastalgia, to borrow Albrecht’s term, for a place I’ve never been to – nor ever lived anywhere like.

  2. I’ve been meaning to comment on this for the better part of a year. I was just thinking of Green Knowe out of the blue and I saw your post. You have an uncanny way of tapping into a small collective unconscious with this stuff, and I find it reassuring and magical.

Leave a comment