Under an English Heaven – paintings by James Lynch

Standard

I’ve always been interested in the skies and weather, ever since I was a child. Now I often find myself soaring with the swallows and birds, which fly alongside me, chasing the insects swept up in the thermals.

James Lynch – a paragliding artist

James Lynch is one of my favourite artists – his paintings are in the tradition of people like Eric Ravilious and further back to Samuel Palmer, but also have that slightly mystical, surreal quality that characterises art and illustration from the seventies I’ve already included here. I think they stand alongside any of the great timeless landscape painters – the two here don’t really do justice.

More information about his work is available at his website here. There is also a beautiful hardback book available from there featuring 26 of his paintings.

4 thoughts on “Under an English Heaven – paintings by James Lynch

  1. These are stunning – absolutely beautiful! Thanks for introducing me to James Lynch’s work – I can’t believe I’ve not come across them before, as I’m so drawn to this kind of style (the sort of art I have on my walls). In these paintings, you can really see what must be his paraglider’s heightened sense for skies and high perspectives. Looking at them, you could lose yourself for ages in all their scope and beautiful detail.

    The landscape is so real and familiar. I see from James Lynch’s website, that he lives in Somerset. I was there (in Wells and up on the Mendips) only yesterday – and looking at these paintings is like stepping back into that beautiful West Country magic all over again. He captures that special mystical sense that interweaves wildness, place, wildlife and people in the shaping of the landscape. His book is now another one to go on the list!

Leave a Reply

