Otters bearing the woes of the world – Ring of Bright Water

Standard

This is a Czech version of the poster for the 1969 film of Gavin Maxwell’s book Ring of Bright Water. It’s incredibly melancholy, and beautiful in its depiction of how humans and the wild fit together – with the scarlet, hand-drawn leash on quite possibly the most emotive image of an otter ever. I read his expression as ‘I killed a few salmon, but you invented the atom bomb’. Are all Czech film posters like this? I hope so. I believe the artist is Hrdina Miroslav, but I can’t find any more information.

Just to illustrate a point, here’s the British version of the poster for the same film. God help us.

4 thoughts on “Otters bearing the woes of the world – Ring of Bright Water

  1. That’s hilarious! Perhaps the sentiment of the British poster says more about national sentiment in the seventies than today?
    I didn’t realise that there was a film version – I’ve just enjoyed the books.

    • Yes, that’s true – but I’m being unfair knocking the British one anyway, the posters are meant to be marketing tools, and melancholy makes great art but doesn’t sell tickets I think! The film is one of my favourites (well, otters are my favourite animal anyway) but it has that particularly mellow and gentle feel of some films from that era, escaping the city for great Scottish landscape etc… but it is polished up into a neat story so not that representative of the book.

Leave a Reply

